Football Programmes Centre

REFEREES!!!!
AlbumAlbum   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   My Wants ListMy Wants List   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
REFEREES!!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Football Programme Forum Index -> Anything Goes Chit Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kenred

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:30 pm 
Post subject: REFEREES!!!!

After a week of critical matches ,and some apparent abysmal refereeing decisions,the Men in black as always are under scrutinity Sad .As a former referee with Cheshire FA for 12 years,a player of amateur status for 25 years,and a spectator for 57 years,I like to think I have some knowledge of the great game of Football.I suppose some players of matches I refereed would disagree,and as a player I was a defender,which is in my opinion a bit easier than a forward in some respects.Refereeing is difficult ,and sometimes its an ordeal.The lonely man in Black(no linesmen except S-F and Finals in the Amateur games ) V 22 players ,(and spectators),and you know you cant win ,you just give honest ,split second decisions.You know after the match if you have had a good game or bad .The response of the players after the match with remarks ,handshakes ,comments give some indication .Referees get frustrated too!
The Chelsea game produced a poor officiating performance I would be the first to agree.The emotions of players disappointed after defeat is understandable,but how far is it permissible?
It sets bad examples to young viewers .eg Drogba,and Ballack,and their haranguing of the Ref was not good.Mind you most teams have done it on occasions,and I am not highlighting Chelsea as I think they should have had at least one penalty,and felt robbed I am sure